Bengal Universities Sign MoUs With Foreign Institutes At Business Summit

Seven universities in West Bengal have signed 15 MoUs with tertiary institutions based outside India and the state for joint research programmes, knowledge transfer and academic exchanges, said a head of the education department.

The MoUs were signed during the Global Interactive Session, a part of the Bengal Global Business Summit hosted by the state government, here in the presence of Education Minister Bratya Basu. Four public universities and three private universities have concluded these pacts with five foreign universities and 10 Indian institutes. “We are exploring country-level collaborations, partnerships between regional and international universities, and preparing an institutional framework to promote strategic partnerships,” Basu said during the program. Public University of Jadavpur (JU) and University of Calcutta (CU) have signed five and three MoUs with different institutions respectively, while Presidency University and Vidyasagar University have signed one each Wednesday. Private Adamas University, Seacom Skills University and Sister Nivedita University have also signed MoUs with various institutes. JU has signed a memorandum of understanding with the University of Warsaw (Poland) for knowledge transfer, academic collaboration and social science student mobility, and another with the University of Exeter (UK) for joint courses and thesis supervision in various subjects. JU has signed three other pacts with other Indian institutes. The University of Calcutta has signed MoUs with UCL London for joint research programs in the development of low-cost diagnostic software tools, and with the University of Leeds (England) for the improving the quality of the teaching-learning process. It signed the third memorandum of understanding with the University of Warsaw in the field of political science and international studies for the exchange of students and professors.

Vidyasagar University has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Russian Academy of Sciences for the development and implementation of collaborative research projects.

President VC Anuradha Lohia University has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research based in Jamshedpur in the field of Earth Sciences for mentorship of researchers and fellowship programs .

Among private universities, Sister Nivedita University has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Okayama University in Japan for health industry development and knowledge transfer. Basu said that 15 universities and 319 colleges in Bengal are accredited by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) which affirms the state’s high academic standards ‘under Mamata Banerjee’s rule. ” ” We have had many such collaborations with universities in the country and abroad in the past in different fields of science and arts. We will continue to seek future collaborations in partnership with institutions known for their pioneering work in different fields,’ CU VC Sonali Chakraborty Banerjee told PTI after signing the MoU. Wickham, Chief Trade and Investment Commissioner Australian Trade and Investment Commission Dr Monica Kennedy and other foreign dignitaries, in Science City on Wednesday.

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Comments are closed.