County Schools Receive A+ School of Excellence Awards | Education

Website Screenshot

Five schools in Pima County were among 21 schools to win the Arizona Education Foundation’s A+ School of Excellence Award for the 2021-2022 school year.

Candidates were assessed in the areas of student guidance and support, school culture, active teaching and learning, curriculum, leadership, community involvement and parents and assessment data.

The local schools that received the Excellence Award, announced earlier this month, were: Corona Foothills Middle School, Cottonwood Elementary and Ocotillo Ridge Elementary School, all three in the Vail School District; Sunnyside Unified School District’s Elvira Elementary School; and Robert S. Richardson Elementary School in the Flowing Wells Unified School District.

Schools receive $500 and a banner designating them as winners of an A+ School of Excellence. Schools hold the title for four years, then must reapply at the end of that term to be considered for renewal status.

Presidential scholars

Two students from the Tucson Unified School District have been selected as candidates for this year’s U.S. Presidential Scholars program, which honors some of the nation’s most distinguished high school graduates.

Jade Kuan and Nathan P. Kuo, both University High School students, were nominated on the basis of their superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strength of character, and involvement in school and community activities .

Comments are closed.