Our governance – Home Office

County Council

The County Council is chaired by the Home Secretary and includes Ministers of State, Non-Executive Directors (NEDs), Permanent Secretaries and the Chief Executive of Corporate Enablers.

Parliamentary Under Secretaries of State and other Directors General of the Ministry are invited to attend as required.

It forms the collective strategic direction of the Ministry of the Interior with an overall objective of steering and reviewing the department’s strategy, performance and capabilities. His remit is broad, with high-level committees and time-limited boards reporting directly or indirectly to him.


  • MP Rt Hon Priti Patel, Secretary of State for the Home Department Chairman

  • The Rt Hon Damian Hinds MP, Minister of State (Minister for Security and Borders)
  • Rt Hon Kit Malthouse MP, Minister of State (Minister for Crime and Policing)
  • Baroness Williams of Trafford, Minister of State
  • Lord Stephen Greenhalgh, Minister of State (Minister for Building and Fire Safety)
  • Victoria Atkins, MP, Minister of State and Minister for Afghan Resettlement
  • Sue Langley OBE, Senior Non-Executive Director
  • James Cooper, Non-Executive Director
  • Michael Fuller QPM, non-executive director
  • Jan Gower, non-executive director
  • John Paton, Non-Executive Director
  • Tim Robinson, Non-Executive Director
  • Phil Swallow, Non-Executive Director
  • Matthew Rycroft CBE, Permanent Secretary
  • Tricia Hayes CB, Second Permanent Secretary
  • David Kuenssberg, Managing Director, Corporate Enablers
  • Professor Jennifer Rubin, Chief Science Advisor and Managing Director, STARS (Science, Technology, Analysis, Research and Strategy)
  • Gus Jaspert, General Manager, Delivery Group

The Departmental Council is supported by the following committees:

  • Audit and Risk Assurance Committee
  • Head Office Senior Management Committee
  • Non-executive council
  • Manifesto distribution table
  • Executive Committee (ExCo)

Audit and Risk Assurance Committee

The Audit and Assurance Risk Committee (ARAC) supports the Department’s Board of Directors and Accounting Officer in their risk, control, assurance and governance responsibilities and provides a perspective independent on the adequacy of the department’s risk, control and governance systems.

The ARAC meets quarterly and holds an additional meeting to review and make a recommendation on the approval of the annual report and accounts of the Ministry of Interior.


Head Office Senior Management Committee

The Senior Management Committee (SLC) provides a forum for strategic discussions on executive compensation and performance. The primary focus of the committee is the management of the senior civil servant (SCS) workforce, including performance, compensation and talent, and pipeline oversight in the most senior roles of the department.

The work of the SLC is ensured by the presence of a non-executive director at each meeting, who will report to the County Council to provide assurance that systems and plans are in place for succession planning in leadership roles and effective arrangements for the implementation of MCS. pay the price.

Non-executive council

The Non-Executive Council is an advisory council chaired by the Permanent Secretary. Its members are made up of the non-executive directors of the Home Office and 3 general directors of the Home Office.

It meets monthly and its role is to facilitate the review and guidance of the Home Office’s delivery performance by its non-executive trustees.

Manifesto distribution table

The Manifesto Dissemination Board (MDB) reports to the Departmental Council.

It facilitates departmental commitment to delivery at an early stage. The MDB focuses on reviewing the implementation of the manifesto and advising the Home Secretary on challenges and decisions that will improve the implementation of manifesto commitments.

It plays a key role in prioritizing activities, reviewing, challenging and supporting the implementation of popular priorities and priorities from the center, examining confidence in the implementation of the whole manifestos and other political commitments. It also provides support and a challenge on many priority cross-functional projects.

Executive Committee (ExCo)

ExCo meets twice a month and is the management team for the department.

To facilitate the proper functioning of the department it:

  • aligns departmental activity with departmental priorities
  • ensures the long-term health of the service by taking into account strategic shifts and major organizational changes
  • responds to current or urgent problems


  • Matthew Rycroft CBE, Permanent Secretary President

  • Tricia Hayes CB, Second Permanent Secretary
  • David Kuenssberg, Managing Director, Corporate Enablers
  • Professor Jennifer Rubin, Chief Science Advisor and Managing Director, STARS (Science, Technology, Analysis, Research and Strategy)
  • Chloe Squires, Director General, Homeland Security Group
  • Emma Haddad, Director General, Asylum and Protection
  • Abi Tierney, Managing Director, Her Majesty’s Passport Office and UK Visas and Immigration and Registrar General for England and Wales
  • Emma Churchill, Managing Director, Migration and Borders Group
  • Phil Douglas, Acting Executive Director, Border Force
  • Tony Eastaugh, Acting Director General of Immigration Enforcement
  • Stephen Braviner-Roman, Government Legal Service
  • Gus Jaspert, General Manager, Delivery Group
  • Jaee Samant, Managing Director, Public Safety Group
  • Julie Blomley, Director of Human Resources
  • Robert Hall, Acting Director of Communications

ExCo is supported by the following committees:

People Committee

The People Committee provides strategic oversight of the people agenda and cross-cutting people issues within the Home Office, oversees people and departmental resilience risk, and governs the 4 foundations and 3 strategic shifts of people strategy.

Finance and Investment Committee

The Finance and Investment Committee provides governance, assurance and oversight of the Home Office’s financial strategy and planning, its financial policies and major investment decisions.

Performance and Risk Committee

The Performance and Risk Committee reviews the department’s organizational performance management and progress against organizational results, and ensures that the department has robust processes to identify, assess and mitigate risks.

The committee also provides oversight and advice on internal audit and assurance.

More information

For more information on each of our boards and committees, and to see a visual representation of our board structure, please see our Annual Report and Accounts: 2020 to 2021, (pages 51-92).

Comments are closed.